Online Degrees and CLEP and DSST Exam Prep Discussion
First job after graduation - Printable Version

+- Online Degrees and CLEP and DSST Exam Prep Discussion (https://www.degreeforum.net/mybb)
+-- Forum: Miscellaneous (https://www.degreeforum.net/mybb/Forum-Miscellaneous)
+--- Forum: Off Topic (https://www.degreeforum.net/mybb/Forum-Off-Topic)
+--- Thread: First job after graduation (/Thread-First-job-after-graduation)

First job after graduation - studyandpass5 - 02-04-2020

What has people's experience been when it comes to getting your first job after graduation? I am hoping to graduate in December (yay!) and will be 25. I'm pursuing a CIS degree from TESU. It's a bit daunting for me; I have no experience whatsoever in the IT field, so looking at even entry level positions seems a bit over my head. Does anyone have any advice or what worked for you?

RE: First job after graduation - davewill - 02-04-2020

Well, it's a good time to be looking for a job. The best thing to remember is that you have to believe in yourself. Don't imagine all sorts of expectations that your interviewer probably isn't holding. They know you are a new grad, and they won't expect you to have a lot of experience. What they will be looking for is your passion and intellect. Don't be afraid to tell them you don't know something, but instead talk about what you do know and how you would cope with finding the info you need.

RE: First job after graduation - Imbanewbie - 02-05-2020

Also you need to prepare couple different resumes, so you can start to apply different roles.do you have any certification on belt? It will help you to check box on hr screening

RE: First job after graduation - studyandpass5 - 02-05-2020

(02-05-2020, 07:51 AM)Imbanewbie Wrote: Also you need to prepare couple different resumes, so you can start to apply different roles.do you have any certification on belt? It will help you to check box on hr screening