Online Degrees and CLEP and DSST Exam Prep Discussion
American Public University IT BSIT degree - Printable Version

+- Online Degrees and CLEP and DSST Exam Prep Discussion (https://www.degreeforum.net/mybb)
+-- Forum: Specific College Discussion (https://www.degreeforum.net/mybb/Forum-Specific-College-Discussion)
+--- Forum: General "Big 3", B&M colleges, and other colleges (https://www.degreeforum.net/mybb/Forum-General-Big-3-B-M-colleges-and-other-colleges)
+--- Thread: American Public University IT BSIT degree (/Thread-American-Public-University-IT-BSIT-degree)

Pages: 1 2

American Public University IT BSIT degree - reylok - 03-28-2020

I am an older computer programmer, slightly math challenged, who needs a "check box degree". I stumbled on to American Public University's IT BSIT degree, which appears to have no real Math requirement. Their "Mathematics and Applied Reasoning" requirement has the suggested class of "ENTD200 Fundamentals of Programming" (Python). It would be fantastic if I could get a degree without having to retrain myself on math, and any programming class would be easy for me.  I had some questions if anyone knows:

1) Is APU respected? (it seems to be loved by its students)

2) Are there any cons about APU I should know?

3) Anyone here go to APU, or get this degree?

4) Are there other schools with IT degrees with no real math requirement?

RE: American Public University IT BSIT degree - natshar - 03-28-2020

WGU requires: Stats, Finite math and algebra

TESU requires: College Algebra and a course beyond college algebra

But for both these schools, you can transfer in this requirement with ACE courses that might not be as daunting as a math class. If you are math-phobic check out CSM course it counts as Stats at WGU idk if it would work for TESU IT degree.

Also do you have any prior college credit? You already have the requirement done with prior credit.

RE: American Public University IT BSIT degree - reylok - 03-28-2020