Online Degrees and CLEP and DSST Exam Prep Discussion
Is a 3.81 GPA good to apply for graduate school? - Printable Version

+- Online Degrees and CLEP and DSST Exam Prep Discussion (https://www.degreeforum.net/mybb)
+-- Forum: Main Category (https://www.degreeforum.net/mybb/Forum-Main-Category)
+--- Forum: Graduate School Discussion (https://www.degreeforum.net/mybb/Forum-Graduate-School-Discussion)
+--- Thread: Is a 3.81 GPA good to apply for graduate school? (/Thread-Is-a-3-81-GPA-good-to-apply-for-graduate-school)

Pages: 1 2

Is a 3.81 GPA good to apply for graduate school? - rohit50 - 05-20-2021

Hi, I am a transfer student here in the States, graduating next May. I transferred from a university called KyungHee in South Korea and transferred to UW-Madison last fall. Including my previous school, I have a 3.81 GPA so far, and I was wondering if this was a good enough GPA to apply for graduate schools.I know this question is very stupid because there are lots of more things that are considered when it comes to graduate school admission haha. But I would like to hear your opinions if you only think of this GPA.
Thanks in advance!P.S. I want to apply for a physics field, condensed matter physics.

RE: Is a 3.81 GPA good to apply for graduate school? - rachel83az - 05-20-2021

It depends on the graduate school. But, in general, anything above a 3.0 is good. Being close to 4.0 is better.

RE: Is a 3.81 GPA good to apply for graduate school? - SteveFoerster - 05-20-2021

Hi Rohit, yes, it sounds like you're in great shape!

RE: Is a 3.81 GPA good to apply for graduate school? - Old Guy - 05-20-2021

If you have a Bachelor's degree with a 2.0 I suspect you will have no problem finding an accredited master's degree in most fields.  You won't get into most schools but finding someone who wants your money is usually never a problem.

RE: Is a 3.81 GPA good to apply for graduate school? - ReyMysterioso - 05-20-2021