Online Degrees and CLEP and DSST Exam Prep Discussion
Took Principles of Finance Exam Yesterday - Printable Version

+- Online Degrees and CLEP and DSST Exam Prep Discussion (https://www.degreeforum.net/mybb)
+-- Forum: Main Category (https://www.degreeforum.net/mybb/Forum-Main-Category)
+--- Forum: General Education-Related Discussion (https://www.degreeforum.net/mybb/Forum-General-Education-Related-Discussion)
+--- Thread: Took Principles of Finance Exam Yesterday (/Thread-Took-Principles-of-Finance-Exam-Yesterday)

Took Principles of Finance Exam Yesterday - Dakota - 09-22-2006

I took the DSST Principles of Finance exam yesterday. I don't have too much to add to what others have already posted about this exam. It was the most difficult exam I have taken but that's mostly because I am not good at memorizing and applying formulas.

After filling out the paperwork I spent approx. 2 hours on the 88 question exam. I used the TI-30Xa calculator and it was able to do everything I needed.

The number one piece of advice I can offer is to make sure you know how to calculate Present Values, Net Present Values, Future Values and Annuities very, very well (with a calculator and from tables). Studying only IC will only get you about half way through this exam. You absolutely must study from other sources to have a chance at passing this exam (see links from other postings for suggested study aids).

I'll try to remember to post again when I get the results back in 3 weeks or so.

Russ

Took Principles of Finance Exam Yesterday - ShotoJuku - 09-23-2006

Dakota Wrote:I took the DSST Principles of Finance exam yesterday. I don't have too much to add to what others have already posted about this exam. It was the most difficult exam I have taken but that's mostly because I am not good at memorizing and applying formulas.

After filling out the paperwork I spent approx. 2 hours on the 88 question exam. I used the TI-30Xa calculator and it was able to do everything I needed.