Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
S.A.L.U.T.E Veterans National Honors Society
Greetings to all,

This is my first post so please excuse any newbie mistakes.

I am happy to report that I graduated from Excelsior College with a B.S. this summer. I am proud of this accomplishment, considering the sacrifices and hardships many of us (and our families) endure during our military careers. By the same token, I am equally excited about my recent induction into the S.A.L.U.T.E Veterans National Honors Society.

I didn't know the benefits of joining an academic society until recently. I wanted to share this bit of information with my Battles who may be unaware that induction into a post-secondary academic honors society has the potential boost to your military and/or civilian resume (I'm retiring soon). I've included a link to an article that I believe dissects the value of academic honor societies with great clarity.

Are College Honor Societies Really Worth It?

***Note: I did not qualify for acceptance into a traditional Greek Honors Society because I did not meet the minimum credit requirement; although I did meet the GPA requirement. I suspect many of our Battles may run into the same issue considering the fact we transfer bulk credits. The S.A.L.U.T.E Veterans National Honors Society provides Service Members the opportunity to be inducted into an academic honors society based on GPA and without regard to a total credit requirement. If you don't qualify for a traditional Academic Honors Society, this Veteran's Honors Society is a great alternative.

Induction into an Academic Honors Society such as S.A.L.U.T.E would make a great bullet for Military Evaluation Reports (NCOER's, EPR's, etc...)

Home - SALUTE National Honor Society for Veterans

I hope this helps someone.

Regards,

1SGM.

[ATTACH=CONFIG]1578[/ATTACH]
I agree the S.A.L.U.T.E Veterans National Honors Society for Veterans is a great deal!:hurray:

What is Battles?