Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Changes to CLEP credit values -- standard practices?
As many of you have heard, ACE changed its credit recommendation for the Humanities CLEP from 6 credits to 3 a couple months ago. (Which blows my mind, by the way. I've taken 14 CLEPs and this was the most difficult one by a long shot.)

Anyway, my school, up until last week, had been granting 6 credits for it. During the time they were evaluating my score, they changed their published master list of CLEPs to reflect the ACE recommendation of 3. Today I found out they gave me 3 credits for the exam.

I understand schools are allowed to do this, but since I'm a new student, I'm not sure what the "standard practices" are for situations like this. My biggest questions are:

1. Are schools typically expected to follow their published credit equivalencies at the time the score is submitted for evaluation?
  2. My larger concern --- can a school retroactively downgrade my other 6-credit CLEPs to 3 after they've been evaluated and posted to my transcript? 
I've reached out to my advisor, so I'll hopefully hear back from her tomorrow. But I want to hear about others' experiences so I can gain an understanding of what's considered above-board.
~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~
Pursuing BA in Communications at SNHU (Started July 2017)
☆CLEP☆ A&I Literature 68 | College Composition w Essay 73 | American Government 68 | US History I 72 | Social Science & History 61 | Information Systems 76 | Principles of Marketing 69 | Principles of Management 67 | Psychology 61 | Sociology 61 | Humanities 57 | Educational Psychology 70 | Biology 60 | Natural Science 72 | ☆DSST☆ Environmental Science 457 | Human Cultural Geography 466 | Principles of Supervision 435 | Introduction to Business 457 | Principles of Public Speaking 450/PASS