Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
A choice of doctoral programs. Where will I end up?
Hello everyone,

I just finished my MS in Data Analytics (3.83 GPA) from UMGC and the degree was conferred on 12/30. I find myself at a cross-roads in which doctorate I want to pursue. My choices are the following:

ALREADY ADMITTED

1. University of the Cumberlands PhD in Information Technology - This one has two advantages, the cost and the option to choose between two good matches for a concentration (Information Technology and Cybersecurity. I was a Information Security Analyst for a multinational bank in the early 2000s.). 

2. Baker College DBA - This one is more of a stretch and really was meant to be the absolute last resort. No longer needed.

APPLIED

1. Purdue University Doctorate in Information Technology - A good mix of data analytics and cyber, plus it's the most prestigious of the schools I'm applying to. Expensive, but I can afford the cost. 

2. Binghamton University PhD Systems Science - This is more of a data analytics degree, but it appears to be geared towards engineering. Possibly could get in with my GPA, age (55) and disability (autism). A NY State school, so the cost would be relatively low, but not as low as University of the Cumberlands.

3. Captiol Technology University  PhD in Business Analytics and Data Science - The main reason for this selection was the size of the school. I would be more than just a number here, but the tuition is relatively high.

NOT APPLIED, BUT LOOKED AT

1. Dakota State PhD in Information Technology - All of the advantages of the University of the Cumberlands plus a better cybersecurity concentration, data analytics not so much of a fit. Of course, the three recommendation letters would have to get in quickly. Possibly if things don't work out elsewhere, I can go back to this in Fall of 2023.