Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Affordable Doctoral Programs?
One of my bigger regrets in life, and it's a mixed regret, is leaving my PhD fellowship (full ride plus generous monthly living expense stipend) to pursue a career I was interested in once I earned my Masters degree. I was really done with school at that point, and I think it was likely time for me to move on - but LSU was paying my tuition, books, rent, and other bills and I walked away from it for a $10 an hour job doing something I loved. Anyway, twenty-something years later, my kids are grown, my younger son is just starting college, and now I'm feeling the pull to give it another go. I could look into local options - we have a college-rich environment here - but online is so much more appealing to me.

So - any suggestions for starting points for a degree in either sociology, psychology, or education? I have my preferences, but I'd like to look at all three. My masters degree is in sociology/criminology, and I graduated with a 3.9 (one B in my entire college/grad school career. Didn't get along with my environmental science prof). I doubt it's remotely affordable/doable, but I'd like to at least consider it.
Here Researching for my son, who has done the following:
Community College: Intro to Philosophy, Fundamentals of IT, English Comp 1
Saylor: Intro to Business, Principles of  Marketing, Corporate Communication
Shmoop: US History 2 (WGU won't accept this)
ALEKS: Int. Algebra, College Algebra
Study.com: Personal Finance, Principles of Finance, HR Management, Global Business, Advanced Operations Management
Straighterline: US History 2, Environmental Science, US History, Microeconomics, Macroeconomics, English Comp 2, Principles of Management, Business Law, Business Ethics, Psychology, Organizational Behavior, Accounting 1,Communication, Managerial Accounting, Statistics
Ed4Credit: Managing Information Systems
Sophia: Project Management
WGU: Bachelors in HR Management