Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Beginner Assistance
So I posted a similar question on this forum in the past but due to some unexpected life circumstances I was forced to delay my plans and in the meantime I imagine there may have been changes in policy or the process itself since I asked my last question. To be honest trying to understand all of this on my own through reading threads and the beginners guide feels a bit overwhelming, so I was hoping by describing my specific circumstances and goals someone could help point me in the right direction.

In brief, I am looking to get a BA for the purpose of legally teaching English abroad. As such, what subject my degree is in doesn't matter to me so much as the relative ease of the tests, cost efficiency, and time required. I live in New Jersey and have some previous college credits (only about 2 semesters.) If it matters I enjoy topics such as history, philosophy, religious studies, and art.

So my question is as of 2019, is it possible to mostly test out of a BA degree? Which of the "Big 3" and their degrees would be best for me given the above mentioned criteria, i.e. no need for any specific degree so much as a cost and time efficient means of acquiring a degree primarily through CLEP/the least amount of actual in class course work?

Thanks in advance for any assistance or pointers, I appreciate any input.
Post your existing credits so we know what you have. I would think the TESU would be the best for you, given that you are a NJ resident. Plus there's more knowledge here for TESU than for the others. The most flexible degree is the BA in Liberal Studies (BALS). The BSBA is also well understood and would make the most sense if you either already have business credits, or have business experience to help you with the courses. In either case, you can earn all but 116 credits using alternative sources (so called "test out", although many are actual online courses).