Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
CFP and bachelors degree
Hello,

I found this site through searching on google about my situation.  I was a student at a couple of different well known, albeit mid tier state universities on the west coast between 2001-2005.  I was one of those that kept changing majors— engineering, business, criminal justice and liberal arts.  During that time I was also in the military— reserves, and was pulled in and out of school for deployments and ended up going to war.

After the service, I was fortunate enough to get a career as financial advisor for a major firm.  I’ve been at that same firm for over a decade now, but never did get around to finishing the degree.  However, I did manage to complete series 6,7,63 and 65 registrations, life and health licenses, a CLTC designation, and a ChFC designation split between courses at the American college and Kaplan (Purdue online?). All in, I have a bit over 120 college credits from my state university from 2001-2005 with all the 101’s completed and various classes from lots of different majors lol.
At this point in my career I’d like to finish the bachelors so that I can sit for the CFP.  I honestly don’t have any preference for what bachelors I receive as it’s just so that I can finally have one and sit for the CFP.  

I’ve read here a lot of great advice for people in similar situations and it seems I might be closer than I think to finishing in something, perhaps even finance degree or similar at TESU or otherwise?  Any advice on how to proceed from the gurus here is much appreciated!!

Summary:
Finished 120 credits at university, just not enough in one degree to achieve bachelors.  

6 years of military including combat deployments

Over 10 years as financial advisor 

Completed ChFC:
8 courses through American College and Kaplan on finance

Completed CLTC: 
one course on long term care planning 

FINRA registrations:
Series 6, 7, 63, 65