Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Engineering vs. Other (appropiatly placed this time, I hope)
I originally posted this in off topic. I guess that was wrong. Sorry, I'm new at this I will try to figure it out.

I am floundering on making a decision. The first part is what I have done already. The second part are some things I am considering. As far as where I want to go...I don't know. I am considering engineering and teaching, but I don't have a "calling" per se.

I am a construction electrician in the IBEW but I have only worked two months out of the last year. I need a career change, or at least a back up. Sorry it's so long.

I have the following experience:

Navy
-Nuclear Field Machinist Mate "A" School
-Cryogenic Technician School
-MM2

IBEW
-Inside Wireman Apprenticeship(5 Year)
-Teledata Apprenticeship(3 Year)

Has anyone had success getting credit for these at Excelsior? ACE shows around 100 credits for them. I wonder how many would apply to anything other than "Applied Professional". I'm thinking that BS Liberal Arts would be the quickest, cheapest way to go. Let me know if I'm wrong.

These are some things I am considering:

Option #1
Penn State Behrend-AEET/BEET/BCET

Pro
o Respected, well known school.
o Could lead to a more fulfilling, more stable career.
o Lead into EET.
o A degree to show for it in half the time compared to EE.

Con
o Computer skills would be very marketable.
o Expensive.
o A lot of driving.
o A lot of time away from home and studying when I am home.
o Probably won’t get me a job making anymore than I can make now.
o Quite difficult.
o Lack of flexibility might lead to delaying or dropping classes or turning down work.
o I’m not very excited about computers. That might just be because I don’t know much about them.

Option #2
Penn State Behrend-EE

Pro
o Highly respected degree from a highly respected school.
o Maximum financial potential.
o Huge accomplishment.

Con
o Expensive.
o Will take a very long time.
o Very difficult.