Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
From Academic Probation to Bachelors - a 17 year journey
Hello Everyone,

Like lots of people, I started college directly out of high school. (Fall 1994). I went to high school and had decent grades, but I was involved in a 1/2 day magnet school that taught advanced computer and AP classes for our district. I've always known I wanted to be a "computer programmer", probably prior to even having an Atari. Back then when I was a junior, I had already exhausted all of the advanced programming classes, pascal, PC assembler, and began working on Novell networks. By the time I graduated I was a very advanced system admin and I started college at the large public B&M university in my city.

Being that I had already self educated on most of the computer skills I had, I found that the university system was way behind reality when it came to computers and the curriculum.

Now that I'm older, I realize that the most of the University environment has no chance when it comes to educating technology students because of the rapid pace of change. I would imagine that the curriculum of most schools is out of date the second its approved. Not to mention the enormous capital expenditures needed to keep pace which they just arent prepared for financially.

To make that story short, I ended up learning how to code java/HTML in the early days of the internet (think Netscape 2.0). Shortly after I joined a bank in New York and began my career.