Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Just a quick update on the Rebel...
Hello IC Pals!!!

Long time no see!  

Not sure I'm 100% "back", but Jennifer encouraged me to stop by and update my personal story and I do miss the group...I will be trying to re-engage a bit and contribute again to the moderator duties (I'll do that so long at SGLOER wants me to).

So what happened?

I have detailed the professional goals and struggles here many times.  A quick re-cap:

I came to IC in 2010 and discovered the "Big 3".  After getting nowhere with TESC I elected to take my 160 existing college credits to Charter Oak where I graduated a year later with a General Studies BS with with dual concentrations in Organizational Leadership and Health Care (I did have an AS in Emergency Medical Services already).  I was finishing the BS when the Ambulance Service I worked for closed its doors and 80 or so people hit the local market looking for work as an EMT, Paramedic (me), or Dispatcher.  I was lucky in that the hospital we were attached to chose to retain me as their Emergency Manager....a choice they made, in part, due to the nearly completed BS.  I got that job and the BS in 2011.  

A year later I started on the WGU MBA.  my employer essentially paid for this degree via tuition reimbursement.  During this time I constantly raised my hand to volunteer for things at work.  In short order I was added to hospital committees, saw a couple of promotions, and most importantly I really began to understand networking and it's effect on a career.  By the time I finished that MBA I was running multiple facets of the facilities department.  Security, emergency management, call center, courier, hazardous materials all reported to me...about 40 employees.  My "big" break came when the hospital hired a new COO from outside.  I deliberately approached him about becoming my mentor (I approached several senior executives at the same time, some would be much more important than others).