Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Liberal Arts BA degree plan help. test heavy. big 3
Hi all! I'm newly registered here but have been reading and researching for a while and love this site!
I am having a bit of a hard time sorting out my approach to a degree tho so just a bit of help would be much appreciated. I'm looking to get a degree mostly for personal and not professional reasons. I work as a Director of Construction and am pretty qualified in my field. I'm not looking for anything really beyond a classic Liberal Arts degree with possible concentration in Humanities- most likely through one of the Big 3. I love testing so CLEP is great for me. I'm also signed up for Sophia and working my way through Art History as my first course. 
I'll list what I have below but have a few questions outside of that. 
GRE subject exams- Literature in English- does anyone still grant credit for this?
PLA specifically portfolio- Is it work it to go this route at all? I have lots of project management experience and have also spent several years teaching construction in an AmeriCorps program. Would any of this translate well into portfolios? 
Studio art- I've been a practicing, although amateur, artist for over 20 years and have studied history and theory extensively. Testing credits seem very limited. Again , can PLA and portfolios address this at all?
First post so if i'm doing this wrong please correct me.
TIA

Texas
41 years old
BA Liberal Arts
current credits- 24
CLEP; Humanities(63) Soc. Sci. & Hist.(70) Eng.Lit.(63) Am.Lit.(60) Int.Soc.(60)Analyze&Int.Lit.(80)Princ.of MGMT(68)West.Civ.II(61)
 active Sophia courses- Art History1, Visual Communications.
GRE subject exams aren't worth anything today. I can't think of any school that still gives credit for them which is a shame.