Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Looking for an MBA
Long time lurker, first time power. I graduated in October from WGU's BSIT program since it was the fastest possible degree plan for me to finish. Now, I'm gunning for an MBA. My hope, therefore, is that someone here will be willing and able to help me out.

Before starting any program, I'll be familiarizing myself with business-related topics. I've already devised a comprehensive personal study plan that is intended to ready me enough to handle any such program.

Desired Criteria:
  • First, I'm really sick and tired of proctored exams. Most online MBA programs I've found expect me to take 2-3 proctored exams per course, each exam being 2-3 hours, all on the same day. I have neither time nor the inclination to spend 6-9 hours a day, three days a semester, doing nothing but testing. Plus, mental fatigue would set in sooner or later, making my last test score far lower than the others.
  • Second, I want to avoid programs where every class involves 15-20 pages of writing per week. It's one thing to have a few papers per class, but eight week courses that all want 200 pages of writing is a bit extreme.
  • Third, I'd like to wrap this up in no more than 18 months, and preferably online or DL in some other capacity. If there's a really excellent option near me (Dallas, TX), I would definitely consider
  • Fourth, I'd like to spend under $15,000.
  • Fifth, if at all possible, I'd like to have a concentration in Strategy or Strategic Management. It may seem vain, but I can't be TheStrategist without some education in strategy. Wink
Options I've ruled out:
  • UT Permian Basin MBA Finance: Each class involves multiple proctored exams, even some proctored quizzes, all of which must be completed on the same day. I don't have 4-6 hours a day to dedicate just for testing, otherwise I'd be able to manage full-time classes.