Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
New to forums
Hello Everybody,

I am Jack Thomas and this is my first post. After poking around in the forum and getting as much information as I could possibly get, I now have decided it is time to kick it into gear and get my degree finished. Where to start? I am in the Air Force Reserve now for 18 years. I'm getting close to the finish line. In my civilian career, I am a licensed aircraft mechanic (Airframe & Powerpant) and I started working as a mechanic in the mid 1990's in Illinois. Hence, that is where I grew up.

I now live in Texas and today I am a Quality Engineer without a degree. I've had to let a lot of good paying jobs go the wayside because I don't have it yet. I have tried to get into Embry Riddle to take classes, but everytime I do there is a hang-up somewhere.

After probing the forums, and finding more about InstantCert and Straighterline, I now am excited to get this started and finished. I have chosen Thomas Edison for my Bachelor program. They have a B.S. in Aviaition Maintenance Technology. I have 98 sem. hours at CCAF at this time. I lack three classes from having the A.A.S. Aircraft Maintenance Technology degree. Of course, they are College Algebra, Humanities and Speech. With that being said, not having the Associate Degree is keeping me from being promotable to SMS/E-8.

My goal is to get this done in less than a year. I am away from my family and have lots of quiet study time in the evenings. I've been dreading all the boring classes that don't amount to squat, but I know I have to do them. I am going to try and CLEP/DSST as many classes as I can. Math is my weakest, therefore, I may have to take the straighterline course.

Any suggestions is greatly appreciated.

Jack Thomas
You could finish that AA/AS in a month or two. Either TESC or COSC would work. There are a couple of 3 ways you can get it done quick, and it sounds like that is a sensible priority.