Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
"Non-Transcriptable" certificates
So I'm taking a few classes at Foothill College and in some programs I see this term being used for various certificates.

I got a response from someone in the administration but I was not satisfied with the response. All they said was that because of some laws passed, these certificates would not appear on your transcript.

Somehow I think this all has to do about money but I am left wondering why not.

Here's a sample web page from the school:
Degrees, Certificates & Transfer Programs

Still confused. :confused:

Your thoughts?
[SIZE="1"][SIZE="4"]Pixal00p[/SIZE]
--------
Excelsior College - BS in Business, General Business - May 2012
Cal State Fullerton - MS in Software Engineering - Application submitted.
[/SIZE]
I will do my best to explain. I'm a community college teacher and one of the program I teach is a certificate program. I currently teach in a curriculum certificate program. The credits do show up on the transcript and college credit is awarded but it isn't transferable credit, meaning it can't transfer into a bachelor's degree. The same courses can be transferred into our AAS degrees, which are traditionally non-transferable. Now, I used to teach in the continuing education division in a certificate program. These courses were not awarded college credit, but showed up on the students continuing education transcript. Of course none of these were transferable for college credit to our degree programs or another school or degree program.