Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Accounting courses from CPACredits.com/Upper Iowa University
(01-23-2024, 10:54 AM)freeloader Wrote: inor, I have no experience with this course provider, but personally I think I would select the North Alabama Accounting Completion Program. The courses are cheaper and it’s AACSB (which UIU isn’t): https://www.una.edu/business/accounting-...index.html

Yeah, they're definitely a good choice for lots of people. Unfortunately I live in a state that considers these courses as glorified CPA review courses. Probably partially due to the fact that the course materials are indeed from Wiley, AFAIK, and partially because they are not able to be applied towards an accounting degree by students at UNA. The reason for the latter is that the accounting department doesn't want the Accounting Career Program poaching their students, so to speak, but this interdepartmental politics is unknown to outsiders and probably equally uninteresting. All they know is that these courses look suspicious, like continuing education or review. 

In addition to my state's CPA board, even TESU, which is known to accept almost anything, has apparently been known to not accept UNA's ACP courses as equivalents in the past. Which, again, gives me pause given TESU's usually generous policies. Which is too bad, because the price is incredible and the institution respectable. These pros are so strong, in fact, that I'm still thinking about risking taking a course or two with them. Meanwhile courses taken at UIU, assuming they can keep themselves afloat and thus accredited for a couple of more years, shouldn't present any problems.
UNA also transcripts by the semester, I believe......while UIU's course grades are added to the transcript shorty after the course is completed.

This is critical for folks seeking to get approved for the CPA exam or licensure, as they can take the course and have a transcript ready to submit ASAP.