Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
RA Credit Requirements for a Second Degree
Hi all,

I have a first Bachelor's degree in Liberal Arts (with 120 RA credits) from a regionally-accredited Canadian university. 

I would like to obtain a second Bachelor of Arts degree in Computer Science. I was originally looking at WGU CS, but a lot of you have made compelling arguments against WGU because of the the number of AOS credits that WGU expects. However, I see a lot of comments questioning Study.com's CS courses transferring into TESU after Summer of 2022 (not sure if this has been resolved and SDC is no longer being accepted). I am not in a hurry to make my career change and I am thinking about waiting to see what UMPI's YourPace CS program is like too.

I also know that rachel83az has published an updated double degree plan for BSBA CIS and BACS (thanks to rachel83az and LevelUP!), but the RA credit requirements seem really daunting (and I see a non-zero possibility of ACEI no longer accepting digital transcripts from Finnish universities in the future, plus Oregon State University's registration process for non-degree students in CS courses seems onerous with its many waitlists?). 

I meet effectively 80% of TESU's general education requirements. I have also finished several of the Coursera certificates through the American Dream Academy (Google Data Analytics, Google IT Support Professional, IBM Cybersecurity Analyst). I'd also like to do the SAS Programmer certificate as SAS is used in my current area of work. TESU seems to award closer to ACE recommendations than WGU. I am currently working on completing my high school Pre-Calculus requirements and enrolling in Straighterline Calculus while my knowledge is still fresh. 

From what I understand, in order to earn a second degree in Computer Science at TESU, I have to :
  • earn 24 new credits (at a minimum) including a 6 credit capstone, 
  • complete all the Area of Study credits for CS (45 credits), and