Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Seeking advice - should I switch degrees?
Question 
Hello everyone,

I’m having a bad case of choice paralysis and I was hoping I could get some advice here.
I’m a little less than 30 credit hours away from getting a BS in Psychology from Excelsior, but I’m regretting my degree choice. I didn’t really know what I was doing when I first enrolled there (…and then I found degreeforum, haha). At this point in my life, I’m confident that I won’t pursue a career or any further education in psychology. I’m also not too happy with my experience with Excelsior, and I dread the thought of taking (and paying for) my Capstone and the required “Research & Writing” class.

I was thinking about transferring to WGU and getting either a BS in Business or IT (Software Development). I’m both interested in business and IT. I have a few years of management experience, but only limited experience in tech (no work experience, but I’ve been studying web development as a “hobby” for a few months). For the business degree I could hypothetically transfer in about 60 credit hours, and I know many people complete degrees there in 1-2 terms with lots of hard work. For the IT degree, I would not be able to transfer nearly as many credit hours. Now I’m really in no hurry to graduate since I have a well-paying job (in the completely unrelated field of Emergency Communications), but I also don’t want to be in school forever.

My main goal is to eventually get a location-independent job. I’m actually a dual-citizen; most of my family lives in Europe. I’m also a travel enthusiast. I know I won’t be truly fulfilled unless I can get a job that allows me to travel while working remotely. From my research, IT seems to be the best option, but  I’m also a little intimidated because there is so much to learn (not saying that I’m not willing to work hard!). It seems like there are also some opportunities for remote work in business, though not as many.