Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Techy People and all and Cyber Security
Well, I'm at a point where I'm graduated. .... Got my diploma from TESC this Monday, Yayyyy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

My degree is in history and I'm more of a language arts type person. Those are my interests and more of where my fortes are at.

So I'm looking at making some money now. One goal is to get my teacher's certification without debt through the state, but I want a trade type job that a woman can do that will make the bacon but at the same time be a little interesting and build my skill set, making me more marketable.

THEREFORE, my conclusions are to do something in computers. My Dad suggested cyber security and that it is a big industry right now. I was intrigued, because when I took my intro to computing DSST, I found it somewhat interesting.

Now I am not a tech person and am pretty computer illiterate when it comes to knowing the mechanics and proper maitnance of computers. If someone would like to share their insight and knowledge in that field such as what are the most marketable certifications for cyber security to get etc. I would be grateful! Smile

I KNOW there are some tech people on here. :coolgleam:
"Those who expect to be ignorant and free, expect what never was and never will be."
- Thomas Jefferson

Graduated, Finished, Completed!! my B.A. in History from TESC!!!!! Technically February 2013 & Generally May 2013!!!
Not to deter you, but from my experience, most computer jobs of any sort require a degree plus work experience . . . or just a lot of work experience. It sounds like you're starting mostly from ground zero. If that's okay with you, then good.

However, there may be other things that are simpler to get into. Still in computers, things like computer repair and help desk don't require a 4-year degree (some help desk spots do). Then again, they make quite a bit less than a network or programming expert.

Some links about getting into cyber security: