Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
How to deal with FA
Anyone who is a COSC vet/alum please help me!

I'm not sure if this is standard practice, but according to my financial aid package, the COA is based on part-time attendance, not full time. They indicated my TOTAL costs for the year would be about $9k which is so far off from what the actual website has for an out-of-state COA--the website says 20k for full time.

My EFC is $400, so its not like I'm swimming in money. They gave me my Pell grant and maxed out my subsidized loan---but because of their messed up COA will only give me $1k of the unsubsidized loan, when I really need the full $6k because I'm a full time student.

Of course, I have been to college before and know how unsubsidized funding works. The girl I spoke with in the FA office told me that the unsubsidized funds have nothing to do with COA (wrong) and that there's only so much money the college is given for them and when they run out, that's it (also wrong) and I would just have to make up the difference--a whopping 10k-12k per year depending on books.

Can someone please tell me who I need to speak to or how I can fix this?
How many classes are you taking for $20K?
(09-23-2020, 10:32 PM)ss20ts Wrote: How many classes are you taking for $20K?
That’s full time; so 24 credits per year, or 12 credits per semester. It’ll be slightly less with my SL discount, but only by a couple hundred bucks.
Update: Apparently the evaluate for FA each semester rather than once per year; so this semester I’m a part time student so they only allotted me part time funds—next semester when I enroll full time they’ll increase my aid as long as I have extra funds (I do).
[-] The following 1 user Likes sambam0812's post:
  • rachel83az
Why take so many credits at COSC?
(09-28-2020, 11:23 AM)ss20ts Wrote: Why take so many credits at COSC?