Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
WGU--Too good to be true??
Question 
Hey all, 
I promise I've read quite a bit here and on Reddit looking to quell my concerns that an accelerated bachelor's degree through WGU seems too good to be true. I have a little bit of credit (18 cu) that will transfer and have mapped out with an enrollment counselor to do a large portion of the Bus. Mgmt degree through Sophia.com/Study.com. I am self pay so this will be affordable for me and I like the ability to accelerate. I'm just nervous to put in the effort/money and then find out in 5 years that my degree is not respected in the business world. I can't find evidence of that happening, but also can't find evidence of graduates who are successful in the long run due to their degree with WGU. Thoughts??
WGU is good in my books, you may want to take a look at some other institutions such as PUG, UMASS or UMPI, but they're not "too good to be true".  You might want to review this thread post, but I'll copy/paste the last reply details I have: https://www.degreeforum.net/mybb/Thread-...#pid355817

Hey, I understand how you feel, SNHU and WGU are regionally accredited, non-profit, they're not going to go the way of University of Phoenix for a few reasons, they are large but they're continuing their non-profit ways, affordable education for the middle class or lower, they have a specific niche and people including the government support them, accreditation agencies are fine with them as well.

I would do the following, choose the school, either stay or go, I usually suggest the Big 3 and competency based degree providers, SNHU and WGU both have been suggested by me before. I love SNHU's College for America option, students get this free if their employer pays the $5000. WGU is inexpensive as well, I usually recommend them for grad school. Decide fast, don't stall.