Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Western Governor's (WGU) Course Question
I'm considering attending WGU for another BS degree in order to be eligible for an additional certification. The problem is that I was told since it is a competency based program I can just do the exams to complete courses in areas that I have extensive work experience. Now in doing some additional research on WGU I discover that their courses have lots of "busy work" and long essay writing that doesn't necessarily teach the concepts and is required to complete the courses. I've also heard about inconsistencies and errors in the grading service that grades these papers making it very frustrating.

I'm hoping someone here has taken courses with them and can let me know if it is true that as long as you pass the exams you can get credit or do you need to complete to all this busy work too? I'm trying to complete this program in 6 months, as I have already completed a lot of the courses and am waiting for their official eval.

I just don't want to take the word of the "sales counselor" that I can just do the exams then find out otherwise after I pay my tuition fee. Since their fee structure doesn't encourage them to want to keep you in the program longer, I'm afraid to trust what I've been told after reading the student feedback. The program director won't return my emails so I'm kinda stuck. I have some other options, but I liked the WGU program best for cost and outcome.

Thanks in advance for any info.
Completed 2/09 - 5/13

RHIA Post-Bac Cert - Stephens - 5/13
MHA - Bellevue Univ - 3/12
BSHS - Excelsior 12/10
BSLS - Excelsior 3/10
ASLS - Excelsior 4/09

ECE - A&P - B
ECE - Found. of Gerontology - B
ECE - Ethics: Theory & Practice - B
ECE - Psych. of Adulthood & Aging - A
ECE - Social Psych. - B
ECE - Abnormal Psych. - B
ECE - HR Management - B
ECE - Research Methods of Psych. - B
ECE - Pathophysiology - A

CLEP - American Govt - 58
CLEP - Intro. to Sociology - 63
CLEP - A & I Lit - 70