Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
What discount does the TESU Study.com partnership bring?
I am confused about the TESU Study.com relationship. I thought it resulted in some kind of waiver of fees, but when I got to this page, it shows now a waiver of fees, but pay a fee called a waiver. I'm trying to judge whether this fee reduction is sufficient to warrant rushing to get my degree done quickly, or taking additional courses to get a dual major, which would make my degree much more valuable (I'm a secondary teacher, so that would show I have expertise in two subject areas instead of one). What is the nature of this discount?
Right now, the Study.com discount is pretty big:
1) You get a waiver for the Cornerstone course (normally $300)

For the Per Credit Tuition Plan:
2) You get a discount on any courses you want to take at TESU, at minimum you'll need the Capstone ($1098 instead of $1497)
3) You get a discount on the Residency Waiver Fee ($1,800 instead of $2,500)
So a $1,400 savings

For the Comprehensive Tuition Plan, where you get up to 36cr in a single year for $6,350
4) Current price in-state is currently $7,300, so a $950 discount
5) Current price for out-of-state is $9,820, so a $3,470 discount

If you wanted to get a degree that is simple like a BALS or BSBA, where there are lots of inexpensive options for the courses you need/want to take, then you should do the Per-Credit plan. If you want to get a specific degree where the courses are going to be much more expensive, then you may want to consider the Comprehensive plan.

For the Per-Credit plan, you pay the residency waiver fee because you're taking fewer than 16cr at TESU. For the Comprehensive plan, there is no residency waiver fee (it's included in the cost).

Also, the current Study.com membership ends 6/30/18, and we don't know what any new discounts will be - but you should assume that they're going to be a LOT less.
TESU BSBA/HR 2018 - WVNCC BOG AAS 2017 - GGU Cert in Mgmt 2000