Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
writing prep for grad school
While writing this, I ended up answering my own question, but figured I would post anyway to see if others had better ideas.

Eventually, I would like to get a masters degree in Information Technology or Information Systems with a concentration in Info Sec / Cybersecurity. I believe I am a decent writer, but I know I need to improve in the area of high output, research paper writing that seems to be required by most grad programs. I'm at least two years away from starting grad school, what can I do in that time to improve?
Andy

---------------------------------

TESC - BSBA: CIS

Current Degree Plan
Complete:  TECEP Eng Comp I, Marriage and Family, Strategic Management, Networking, Computer Concepts, Liberal Math, Tech Writing, Managerial Accounting DSST MIS, Cybersecurity Study.com Macroeconomics
Remaining:  Waiting for credits to process

ajs1976 Wrote:I believe I am a decent writer, but I know I need to improve in the area of high output, research paper writing that seems to be required by most grad programs. I'm at least two years away from starting grad school, what can I do in that time to improve?

Your last sentence is a run-on, so your grammar needs work. I do understand that most of us (myself included) do not proofread forum posts.

Most people here believe that testing out of English Comp is good. I'm in the tiny minority that disagrees with that. If you're willing to work hard on this, go back to ratemyprofessor and look for a 4.5+ English comp teacher with an easiness score of around 2.0-2.5. It's going to require practice. But you also need constructive feedback in order to improve as well.

The other option is to plan on hiring a proofreading service for your papers.
TESU BA CS and Math (graduated December 2016)