Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Advice on BS CIS Degree plan
I'm doing the BSBA CIS OPM double major. I have only a few courses left.

If you want some free, easy, and cheap credits, you should check out the Google Professional certs on Coursera. Idk what's your background, but my background is IT and business, so I blasted through these certs in 1-2 days each (Project Management and Data Analytics were harder). It knocked off a bunch of courses for me as electives and even in the specialization. I can't remember how many courses at the moment, but it was well worth it. You don't pay for the Coursera subscription if you complete the course within 7 days. Plus, you can add those certs as badges to your Credly or LinkedIn if you care for the extra flair (Chocthkie's might).

IT Support
Cybersecurity
Data Analytics
Project Management

If you check the ACE database, you'll see the most recent evaluation for what each cert is worth. Also, reference the DegreeForum wiki regarding the certs.

Of course, it's worth confirming with TESU advising what a course will evaluate as, if you're not sure or paranoid that something won't transfer, but I have not had any problems thus far. Generally, the info in the wiki is pretty accurate, unless you see an exceedingly outdated article.

For LL courses, I did a couple CLEPs and half a dozen courses with StraighterLine and the CSM course. SL was very easy to use and from what I see much less intensive than Study.com. Not to mention there are open book exams with SL which you can pick to suit your desired course layout. I just challenged all the quizzes and exams, passed on the first attempt; six courses done in two weeks.