Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Any other students with chronic illness?
Hey guys! Confusedeeya: I thought I'd give a shout-out to see if there are any students here with chronic illness. I deal with fibromyalgia, CFS, POTS, chronic migraines, and a host of the other autoimmune cousins. It's one reason I'm especially grateful for this online route of college (and for all you wonderful people who help pave the way!). I graduated HS almost 6 years ago and have had to take college slow since then because of my health. You guys make being behind okay, which is encouraging, let me tell ya!

Being a young person in today's world involves everyone asking what you're doing for college, do you have a job, and so forth. And it's hard to explain to people that it's a full-time job just trying to be well! The "spoon theory" does a splendid job getting this point across...check it out! But You Dont Look Sick? support for those with invisible illness or chronic illness The Spoon Theory written by Christine Miserandino - But You Dont Look Sick? support for those with invisible illness or chronic illness

Being unwell has affected a lot of things, especially studying! For example, I've failed a few tests because I got hit with a migraine halfway through, or because of "brain fog", and so forth. 24/7 pain definitely changes you; prior to getting sick, the high school me was a straight-A student; now just six years since graduating, I study 3x as much just to get decent grades. :ack: The brain on pain is a scary thing...lol