Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
CLEPing through English BA at TESC
Hello, everyone! Thank you for looking!

My name is William, and I am trying to figure out how to go about starting my college education. I'm planning on being a high school teacher in a conference of Christian schools, and in my situation all I need to have is an English BA to get my foot in the door and start teaching. I have experience with working with youth (I was an assistant dean and student teacher at an academy for a year) and my resume would be attractive to ministerial teaching if I could just get the education I need for it.

I've done a lot of comparing, and I think TESC would be the best for fit me. I'd like to complete the BA online, and I plan on CLEPing over half of the coursework. I talked to an adviser from CollegePlus, and he told me that I could potentially take about 26 CLEPs and only have to attend about 6 classes or so. This is exciting news! Alas, the services they offered weren't quite what I needed for the price they were asking. I just needed help with charting my course.

Specifically, where I need assistance is where to start with the CLEPs. Unless I talk to an academic adviser (which means enrolling at TESC, costing me over a thousand dollars that I really don't need to spend right now), I only know of a handful of CLEPS that would be guaranteed to match up with the program. I don't want to enroll until I'm ready to get slammin' on the classes, and I'd like to have the majority of my CLEPs taken care of at that point. I could really use a way to know which tests will fill which requirements for this class.

TL;DR - I'm a guy wanting to get a BA in English, I want to CLEP as much as I can and finish at TESC. Where do I start?

Here are the CLEPs they accept at TESC:
CLEP - College-Level Exam Program

Here's what I need to complete my English BA:
Thomas Edison State College: English