Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Degrees: Practical or Fun?
Okay, so I'm working through my associate's degree right now. After I graduated high school, I had no idea what to do, so I decided to take some time off, thinking I would appreciate a break. Instead, I got bored without school. So, instead of taking a year break, I only had a three to four month break and then I started taking some classes from the local technical and community college and started studying for and taking CLEPs and DSSTs. Problem is, although I appreciate having school to do, this isn't helping me decide what I want to go to school for. (Right now, I'm just doing a general Associate in Arts degree.) I have a couple of different ideas of degrees that I would really enjoy studying, but they aren't exactly practical degrees if I want to get a job in whatever field I study. So...I'm just wondering what y'all think: Should you get a degree just because you'll enjoy it while it lasts, even if you will never use it? Or should degrees be practical - something that you can actually use to find a job to support yourself when you graduate, even if it's not exactly what you want to study?
It depends on your goals. Practical is probably going to earn you a lot more. Some people would rather do what they love and have less money.

In today's job market, people do have to worry about being completely unemployed. Any bachelor's degree is better than none, but there are plenty of people with a BS/BA who are unemployed. That also depends on things like their interview skills, gender and race (unfortunate but true), where they live (or where they're willing to move), etc.