Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Careers after TESU Degree
Here's the deal, IMNSHO. A TESU BACS isn't going to impart a lot of skills. The coursework isn't as rigorous, and it's all self-taught. An in-person program at a 4 year school would include labs and internship opportunities that would help you become skilled. A TESU BACS is mostly going to benefit people who either have significant experience, but need a degree to check the box, or who are very self directed and motivated and will develop the skills needed to land a job on their own.

It's similar with BSBA CIS. The coursework alone probably won't be enough to land a good IT job. You'll need a lot of self-study and some certifications in all likelyhood.

That said, there are tons of people out there who have bootstrapped themselves by working for small outfits that were willing to take a chance on them, and climbing the learning curve on their own. Some even without degrees. But if you think that the degree will open doors all by itself, probably not.
NanoDegree: Intro to Self-Driving Cars (2019)
Coursera: Stanford Machine Learning (2019)
TESU: BA in Comp Sci (2016)
TECEP:Env Ethics (2015); TESU PLA:Software Eng, Computer Arch, C++, Advanced C++, Data Struct (2015); TESU Courses:Capstone, Database Mngmnt Sys, Op Sys, Artificial Intel, Discrete Math, Intro to Portfolio Dev, Intro PLA (2014-16); DSST:Anthro, Pers Fin, Astronomy (2014); CLEP:Intro to Soc (2014); Saylor.org:Intro to Computers (2014); CC: 69 units (1980-88)

PLA Tips Thread - TESU: What is in a Portfolio?
[-] The following 1 user Likes davewill's post:
  • aussiegbrl