Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Cheap general science courses? Preferably online.
I'm looking into the possibility of getting an alternate pathway teachers license in Florida for the Grades 5-9 general science subject area. My degree is not related to education at all. I studied computer science but that subject area doesn't seem to be worth attempting to get a temp teachers license for as there are very few vacancies.

https://www.fldoe.org/teaching/certifica...-0321.stml
According to the FLDOE:
2) Plan Two. A bachelor's or higher degree with eighteen (18) semester hours in science with associated laboratory experiences to include credit in the areas specified below:

(a) Biological science,

(b) Chemistry or physics and,

© Earth-space science or earth science.

Now, what the website doesn't seem to make clear is where these credits need to come from in terms of accreditation. I also noticed they accept foreign degrees and transcripts if the transcripts have been evaluated and match up with US standards. So I would hope that they're somewhat loose on the accreditation requirements.

I currently have the following that might fall into biological science:

4 credits in Microbiology
8 Credits in Anatomy & Physiology

I took these classes because I'm also looking to go into nursing but it's a toss up as to when I'd get into a program and so I'm just trying to build up alternative pathways for myself to stable work.

I do not know if A&P would count as 'biological sciences' as per the description above because FLDOE has a special subject area for 'health sciences' which requires 30 credits. Some colleges list A&P as health science specific classes, while others list them under biology.