Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
AOTC credit and TESU residency waiver
#11
It's certainly an interesting question. I'm leaning towards 'no' because:

1. The residency fee is not required of all students
2. Fees not specified as 'qualified' in the tax code are not included
3. Graduation fees are not specified as 'qualified' and the residency fee is essentially that

However, TESU may have received other guidance at some point.

Should I e-mail Student Finance at TESU and ask?

We might get the wrong answer that way, but this is kind of important to know. Before, people were thinking it was cheaper to take the 16 credits at TESU to avoid the residency fee in some cases.

NOW, people might be able to get a break by paying the 16 credits in tuition, but no break by paying the residency fee (if it's not included in tuition and fees). Somebody here on the forum should be able to compare their 1098-T from TESU in prior years with their billing statements to see if it was left off.
OnlineDegree
Intro to Marketing and Strategy ($9) | Intro to Microeconomics ($9)

Study
Intro to Managerial Accounting ($70) | Advanced Accounting ($70) | Managerial Accounting ($80) | Intermediate Accounting 2 ($90) | Intermediate Accounting I ($90) | Cybersecurity Policies & Management ($80) | Management Information Systems ($80) | Data Structures & Algorithms ($80) | Intro to Programming ($70) | Computer Architecture ($70) | Calculus ($80) Database Management ($80)
Systems Analysis & Design ($70) | Discrete Math ($80) | Intro to Operation Systems ($80)

Saylor.org
Intro to Computer Science I ($25)
[-] The following 1 user Likes udi's post:
  • alab21
Reply
#12
(12-22-2020, 10:20 PM)udi Wrote: It's certainly an interesting question. I'm leaning towards 'no' because:

1. The residency fee is not required of all students
2. Fees not specified as 'qualified' in the tax code are not included
3. Graduation fees are not specified as 'qualified' and the residency fee is essentially that

However, TESU may have received other guidance at some point.

Should I e-mail Student Finance at TESU and ask?

We might get the wrong answer that way, but this is kind of important to know. Before, people were thinking it was cheaper to take the 16 credits at TESU to avoid the residency fee in some cases.

NOW, people might be able to get a break by paying the 16 credits in tuition, but no break by paying the residency fee (if it's not included in tuition and fees). Somebody here on the forum should be able to compare their 1098-T from TESU in prior years with their billing statements to see if it was left off.


If you call, let me know what you find out.

Agreed, a past 1098-T would likely answer the question.


Sent from my iPhone using DegreeForum.net
Reply
#13
Interesting! Apparently, people really are working at TESU despite the auto e-mails.

I did confirm with TESU that the residency waiver IS included as part of tuition and fees in box 1 and qualifies for 1098-t reporting.

Great news. I will say that I am skeptical because I have gotten a lot of information from different people at TESU that I have had to correct them on, but they are certain it's included.
OnlineDegree
Intro to Marketing and Strategy ($9) | Intro to Microeconomics ($9)

Study
Intro to Managerial Accounting ($70) | Advanced Accounting ($70) | Managerial Accounting ($80) | Intermediate Accounting 2 ($90) | Intermediate Accounting I ($90) | Cybersecurity Policies & Management ($80) | Management Information Systems ($80) | Data Structures & Algorithms ($80) | Intro to Programming ($70) | Computer Architecture ($70) | Calculus ($80) Database Management ($80)
Systems Analysis & Design ($70) | Discrete Math ($80) | Intro to Operation Systems ($80)

Saylor.org
Intro to Computer Science I ($25)
[-] The following 2 users Like udi's post:
  • harrypotter, manmanthegr8
Reply
#14
(12-29-2020, 03:01 PM)udi Wrote: Interesting! Apparently, people really are working at TESU despite the auto e-mails.

I did confirm with TESU that the residency waiver IS included as part of tuition and fees in box 1 and qualifies for 1098-t reporting.

Great news. I will say that I am skeptical because I have gotten a lot of information from different people at TESU that I have had to correct them on, but they are certain it's included.


Thank you for checking!! Fingers crossed it’s correct, as you pointed out, they’re sometimes wrong. Confirming on a past 1098-T would definitely clear the concerns we share. This is a step in the right direction, though! Very exciting!


Sent from my iPhone using DegreeForum.net
Reply
#15
Got my 1098T from tesu today. has me as at least half time. residency waiver fee is included in total for box 1. Going to give the form to my tax people and let them do what they do if I'm qualified for AOTC or Lifetime Learning credit or anything else.
TESU: BALS June 2021 (comm college, clep, sdc sophia coopersmith, SOS110, and capstone)

[-] The following 2 users Like P226mem's post:
  • alab21, harrypotter
Reply
#16
(01-21-2021, 02:02 PM)P226mem Wrote: Got my 1098T from tesu today. has me as at least half time. residency waiver fee is included in total for box 1.  Going to give the form to my tax people and let them do what they do if I'm qualified for AOTC or Lifetime Learning credit or anything else.

Great news, thanks! I was surprised to see that self-study exams for TESU also show up in box 1.
OnlineDegree
Intro to Marketing and Strategy ($9) | Intro to Microeconomics ($9)

Study
Intro to Managerial Accounting ($70) | Advanced Accounting ($70) | Managerial Accounting ($80) | Intermediate Accounting 2 ($90) | Intermediate Accounting I ($90) | Cybersecurity Policies & Management ($80) | Management Information Systems ($80) | Data Structures & Algorithms ($80) | Intro to Programming ($70) | Computer Architecture ($70) | Calculus ($80) Database Management ($80)
Systems Analysis & Design ($70) | Discrete Math ($80) | Intro to Operation Systems ($80)

Saylor.org
Intro to Computer Science I ($25)
[-] The following 1 user Likes udi's post:
  • alab21
Reply
#17
(01-21-2021, 02:02 PM)P226mem Wrote: Got my 1098T from tesu today. has me as at least half time. residency waiver fee is included in total for box 1. Going to give the form to my tax people and let them do what they do if I'm qualified for AOTC or Lifetime Learning credit or anything else.


That’s great news! Thank you for reporting back!


Sent from my iPhone using DegreeForum.net
Reply
#18
Just as an update, I received my 2020 1098-T, and the residency waiver fee is included in box 1. I was less than half time student, as a matter of fact, I didn't take any classes through them that year. I just paid the residency waiver fee that year, so I did not qualify for the American Opportunity Credit, but I did qualify for the Lifetime Learning Credit and was able to use that residency waiver fee to qualify for it.
Thomas Edison State University:
BA in Computer Science - Currently Pursuing (114/120 Credits)
ASNSM in Computer Science - Graduated 6/5/2020
[-] The following 1 user Likes BadBradsBBQ's post:
  • harrypotter
Reply
#19
Yeah my friend got just about half of the cost of his tesu BA refunded
BA, New England College, 2019
MA, California State University, LA - Starting Fall 2025
Reply


Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  TESU Bachelor Data Analytics after Statistics.com is gone homeschoolmom1 6 610 3 hours ago
Last Post: Mint Berry Crunch
  TESU Duel Degree BACS & BS CIS Advice newdegree 2 153 10-19-2026, 10:53 PM
Last Post: bjcheung77
  TESU enrollment and transfer requirements degreedude80 4 236 10-18-2026, 03:54 PM
Last Post: LevelUP
  TESU Foreign Language BA resistk 18 5,891 10-17-2026, 01:17 PM
Last Post: degreedude80
  TESU ILA to BA degree - apply now or wait? degreedude80 10 1,000 10-16-2026, 09:01 PM
Last Post: degreedude80
  ACEI Finland evaluation to TESU homeschoolmom1 2 739 10-04-2026, 09:33 PM
Last Post: abel1303
Question The Final Frontier: Capstone LIB-4970 or LIB-4950 for BACS and TESU's Recent Changes animuscerebri 24 11,576 10-01-2026, 08:17 PM
Last Post: justsomeguy
  UK-based, 25yr IT pro, planning TESU BS Cybersecurity — plan sanity check smilingbuddha 4 1,771 09-26-2026, 12:31 AM
Last Post: DegreeNerd
  Post-bacc credit transfers Non-matriculated esummer 3 520 09-22-2026, 03:59 PM
Last Post: esummer
  TESU BACS Interested justsomeguy 3 697 09-21-2026, 01:56 PM
Last Post: jg_nuy

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)