Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Computer Science Degree Plan
Hi everyone!

It's my first post here. I'm very new to all this. My goal is to get a computer science degree. I have 20 years programming experience, but no college experience or credits. Because of my work, I don't think I'll be able to start in earnest until this summer. However, I'd like to work up a game plan.

I think my obvious choices are either WGU BS CS or TESU BA CS.

With WGU, my plan would be to finish in one semester (they charge by the semester). At TESU, I think I would want to transfer in the max credits so I only have to take one or two TESU classes. The TESU degree is a BA, so it should be much easier to find transferable credits for, right?

I've worked up a spreadsheet for the WGU BS CS program with possible credit options (see attachment). I don't think it's quite enough though. Are there any obvious things I'm missing?

How do I know which CLEP credits will transfer to which course requirements? Do you just have to guess? For the TESU degree, will any college credits work in the "Elective" categories? What do I need for the 12 "Knowledge of Human Cultures" credits? Whats the difference between "General Education Electives" and "Electives"?

Any opinions on what's cheaper/easier between WGU vs TESU?

Attached Files
.xlsx   WGU Credits.xlsx (Size: 11.91 KB / Downloads: 48)
Software Engineering at Saylor is ACE approved, so they (WGU) should be able to take that.
Operating Systems is at SDC and ACE approved, I believe.
Here is the map of what CLEPs count for what GenEd requirement at TESU:

https://www.tesu.edu/academics/catalog/c...am-program

There is one error that I'm aware of on this list, namely that it doesn't show the InfoSystems CLEP counting for Understanding the Physical and Natural World.

For courses outside of CLEP, there's usually someone here who knows the answer of what it will count as.
Completed: