Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Credential Program Question
Hi Everyone (Newbie here),

Question...If I were to get a degree through the Big 3 would it be accepted to get into credential program for teaching???  If anyone has experience with this I would appreciate any insight.
The biggest issue is the need to student teach. That is not something that can be done online, although there are now schools that offer everything except the student teaching online and then you can set up the student teaching locally. Western Governors University is a school that does this and there was another school posted about here recently that does it this way.

It is also possible to earn a Big 3 undergrad. and then do a master's or certification program from another school that includes teaching certification.
I think WGU Western Governers University would be your best bet. You can transfer it up to 90 out of the 120 credits needed for your degree. It is all competency based and it would be possible to finish all the rest of your coursework in six months and then student teach the next term. If you want to be a teacher, I think WGU is the fastest, easiest, cheapest and way to go with less back tracking. WGU will work with you and they have programs that work with current certification laws in all 50 states in America.

The Big 3 is another option, but none of them grant any teaching degree. So you would have to earn a degree from them and then go somewhere else to get a teaching degree, which just requires a lot more steps that aren't needed if you start at WGU.

https://www.wgu.edu/online-teaching-degrees.html