Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 4 Average
Has anyone taken the new College Composition or College Composition Modular exam???
I am new to Instantcert and have not taken my first CLEP yet. I've chosen the composition exam(s) to take first. Has anyone taken either of the new exams? If so, how was it? How was the essay section? Any info would be greatly appreciated.
I took the College Composition Modular, it was my first CLEP. I was supposed to take College Composition (which has the essay) but I made the mistake of not checking the test names Tongue Personally, I think it was a good first CLEP and I passed with a 54. I have heard many people say that the College Composition with the essay is a lot easier and that the essay section is pretty easy.

- Good Luck on Your CLEP!
I thought both of the exams now had mandatory essays? So the modular exam did not have one? Do you wish you would have taken the exam with the essays?
How long did you study for? I am planning on studying for 1-2 months and I'm hoping that's enough time. Any thoughts?
No, the Modular did not have an essay section. I do wish that I would've taken College Composition (I'm going to take that one soon!). I studied for it for about a month, so 1-2 months should be fine! IC has really great study questions. To get more info about the Composition tests (since they've had a recent change) go to the College Board website.

Hope that helped!
Thanks for the info! I am probably going to take the college composition exam and get the essay section over with. However, in your opinion, is it worth my time to also take the college composition modular exam as well? I don't know what college I want to apply the CLEP credits too yet and I am wondering if I should take both of the exams anyways just to cover myself. Thoughts?