Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Have the MBA degree but have never worked a job? What should I do? Thanks
I am not sure how to best handle this situation. I am 22 years old and earned the MBA degree. I have 2 business bachelor's degrees. I have never worked a job so I have no work experience. I am currently doing entry level jobs that are paying me the minimum wage. Should I simply keep doing these jobs to build more experience? Some employers have given me a hard time due to the lack of experience. Some employers have told me that I am overqualified. I do not know everything so I will greatly appreciate any advice. Thank you.
First of all -- congrats on achieving a Master's degree (on top of two Bachelor's degrees) at age 22. That's impressive beyond words.

Having said that, you're 22 and you have no work experience, so it's going to be VERY difficult to find a job that demands the level of education that you have. I don't think you necessarily need to relegate yourself to minimum wage jobs, but you may have to take on a job that isn't the one that you want. You're going to have to pay your dues. Credentials are fantastic, but you need some experience to back those credentials up before an employer invests their time in you.

The flip side to that is that, yes, you're overqualified for many of those low-level jobs that will give you good experience. I'd suggest leaving the MBA off of your application for that assistant manager job at Office Depot. But, apply for that job. Get that job. Be a rockstar for a year or two and then apply for a manager job in your field of interest.