Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
InstaCert College Math CLEP Prep - a little disappointed
Hi all, my first post. I signed up to InstaCert a few weeks back in an effort to study for my first of many CLEPs/DSSTs - College Math. Disclaimer - I have not done any real math since highschool (coming up on 20 years ago) so I knew that I needed all the help I can get. So my forthcoming review takes that into account, so you all don't think I'm being too harsh when I say I am a little disappointed with InstaCert preparation for my first test.

Score: 58 (a pass, and I'll take it! But I "felt" I was going to be in the 60s when I clicked the button)

CLEP Prep: The good. The breadth of the flashcards and the quality of the content was excellent. I quickly realized that I needed more of a "narrative" since it has been so long since I studied math at all. Also, they didn't teach Sets, Venn Diagrams, Probability, etc, back in the day so there was a significant amount of new information that I had to assimilate. Oddly enough I sat next to Math teacher on a plane last week while I was using InstaCert and looking for a good description of the break down of certain equations, and she recommended CK12.com for a free online text book type source. I found the website very helpful, as well as coolmath.com, mathisfun.com, khanacademy videos, purprlemath.... there really is a plethora of information out there which helped. But my primary prep was with InstaCert and I would recommend it to a friend in a heartbeat.