Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Masters for Teaching College Courses
I think I might enjoy teaching those college orientation type courses. Like the kind, most brick and mortar schools have a course that teaches intro to college. It is basically study skills, resources the college coffers, etc. Additionally, many colleges offer an optional course on career decision making or professional development. Where you learn about different majors and how to craft a resume. I have a lot of knowledge in those areas and might want to teach stuff like that in the future.

Unfournatly, I only have a bachelor's and I know that in order to teach at college you need a master's.

Anyway, if I wanted to teach orientation courses as an adjunct at a community college or even a university I am wondering what degree would be best to go after? Any thoughts or personal experience would be helpful.
Rarely some Jr Colleges will hire bachelors. But a masters is desirable for most undergrad teachers. Ultimately college professors will end up eventually becoming a PhD
(02-14-2021, 10:50 PM)ashkir Wrote: Rarely some Jr Colleges will hire bachelors. But a masters is desirable for most undergrad teachers. Ultimately college professors will end up eventually becoming a PhD

I know that is why I am asking. I want to know what kind of masters degree I should go after to teach orientation courses?

I know to teach English at college you need a masters in English, Math is masters in Math, etc. However, there isn't a degree in College Orientation and the stakes for these courses are so low and the content isn't difficult. So I not sure which Masters degree is best for this pursuit.

I don't want to be a professor, just adjunct teaching at a community college, full time if I get lucky and it works out. But I have no interest in getting a Phd now or possibly ever.