Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Math Frustration
I am working through my degree and math has been frustrating to say the least.

While the other subjects have come easily I cannot get my head wrapped around algebra or precalculus.

Suggestions?

I have a Math with Business Applications course on my transcript but don’t think it will qualify.
MTAW Certified Municipal Treasurer - Wisconsin 
IAAP Certified Administrative Professional
Administrative Professional Associate Degree - Madison College

Next up: Bachelor's Degree 

Supplement your study materials with Khan Academy.
Study for one of the CLEP math tests. I am not good at math really and I did the college mathematics test and passed with minimal studying.
What is the lowest math you can get away with?

I agree with Yenisei about Khan Academy, that is a GOLDMINE of really excellent curriculum that you can use in any way you want. You can start from scratch or hop around, do practice problems, etc. I passed Stats DSST using Khan, it's very very good.

But, I needed a 100 level math (as opposed to a specific math, which might be your requirement- especially since you mention precal) and for that I took the course Mathematics for Liberal Arts through TESU. There is now also a DSST exam with that title.

Can you post specifically what maths you need?
I am waiting for my evaluation from TESU and Charter Oak to determine which math courses I absolutely need.  I've applied for the Liberal Studies Bachelor's Degree.
MTAW Certified Municipal Treasurer - Wisconsin 
IAAP Certified Administrative Professional
Administrative Professional Associate Degree - Madison College

Next up: Bachelor's Degree