Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Online MSc Computer Science Merrimack College
I am considering switching careers into computer science but I have a non-cs bachelors degree. I prefer to do a program completely online. 

I came across Merrimack College online MSc Computer Science degree. I have some mixed feelings about the program and would like to hear others’ opinions before investing in the $20,000 degree. 

It is a new online program that does not require one to have a relevant bachelors degree to apply. There has not been a graduating class because the first cohort began in Fall 2021. Upon entry, students will have access to two bootcamps to catch up on materials as needed. I have mixed feelings about this because bootcamps seem to have a bad reputation in the CS field. I have yet to hear of another university that encourages the use of one in their masters program. 

The website claims the program can be completed in 1 year part time. This is not entirely true. Upon speaking with advisors, the reality is students enroll part-time; completing one course at a time in 8 week long semesters. At that pace, students complete their program in approximately 16 months. If a student wishes to be “full-time”, they can take 2 courses in certain semesters. 

I don’t like their use of bootcamps and the dishonest program description. Am I overthinking though?
Most of their students probably are part time which is 1 course per session/term/semester. That's normal for grad programs. Full time grad students typically take 2-3 courses per session/term/semester. 16 months is a bit more than a year. Many part time master's degrees are 2+ years.

It doesn't sound like you really like this program for a variety of reasons. i'd keep looking for another degree program. There are so many online degrees available today. Quite often it's tough to narrow down and pick one.
Bootcamps are OK.