Only if I knew ahead of time
26.67%
16 26.67%
Total 60 vote(s) 100%
* You voted for this item. [Show Results]

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Study.com contributing to TESU GPA??
(05-06-2018, 12:12 PM)dfrecore Wrote: I have been a hiring manager, and if a degree is required (usually by someone other than the hiring manager), it's almost always as a check-the-box type of thing (and it's gotten to be more so over the last 10-15 years).  I only care that someone can DO THE JOB, not that they took History 101 while getting the degree.

It's a "check-the-box type of thing" BECAUSE they are able to assume that having a degree means you actually did earn it. If they didn't trust that to be so, then it would become a much more onerous process.

I don't mind people deciding to do "C" work, and accepting the C. I don't even mind pass/no pass grading. We all have to prioritize where we spend our study time. My criticism is with people skipping large parts of the course because they can Google their way through quizzes to get perfect scores on them. They even come on here and BRAG about how fast they can get through a course without really learning anything.

Anyway, I think that having real grades that count can only help.

(05-06-2018, 08:37 PM)a2jc4life Wrote: Anyone who gets a passing grade on the course DID do the work, adequately to be considered legitimate.  There are other things far more likely to "cheapen" a degree, like lax grading in actual classes that leads to average students/work getting A/B grades, and some of the ridiculously junk classes. ...

Sure, there's problems at B&M schools, too, but that seems irrelevant to the conversation.
NanoDegree: Intro to Self-Driving Cars (2019)
Coursera: Stanford Machine Learning (2019)
TESU: BA in Comp Sci (2016)