Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Suggestions for (fast, inexpensive) ways to boost GPA
A friend I'm studying with is currently completing a TESU degree with a bunch of ACE credits through various sources.  But his prior GPA (5 years ago) isn't so great... about 2.6.

He's got 6 credits worth of "As" from a recent community college course and a UExcel exam, and is expecting he can do "A" level work for his 6 required TESU credits.

But when we were talking tonight, he was realizing that all the ACE credits will be pass/fail, asked tonight if there were options for graded work he could do that could be brought in to TESU.  (He realizes that non-TESU courses won't affect his TESU GPA, but it will calculate into the GPA that grad schools will look at.)

The only inexpensive, quick, graded credit suggestions I had for him are the UExcels and (I think) the TECEPs. What other options are out there?
I think he's better off going somewhere like UMPI, where he will get 30 graded credits included in the cost. It's difficult to raise your GPA without a lot of credits to offset your bad grades.

For example, if you have 24cr with a 2.6125 GPA, you will need to take 12cr of A's to get to a 3.075. That's 50% of the total number of credits already earned. So if you have more credits, you'll actually need more A's to offset those.
TESU BSBA/HR 2018 - WVNCC BOG AAS 2017 - GGU Cert in Mgmt 2000
EXAMS: TECEP Tech Wrtg, Comp II, LA Math, PR, Computers  DSST Computers, Pers Fin  CLEP Mgmt, Mktg
COURSES: TESU Capstone  Study.com Pers Fin, Microecon, Stats  Ed4Credit Acct 2  PF Fin Mgmt  ALEKS Int & Coll Alg  Sophia Proj Mgmt The Institutes - Ins Ethics  Kaplan PLA
Taking the easiest community college courses.

Most or all UExcels are hard to get A's on.

So 16cr flat rate term at TESU.  I got straight A's for the 6 courses I took, lots of free points with the forums. 

TECEPs aren't easy, you just be digging a deeper hole.