Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
TESU PLA Using Saylor CS Courses?
Hello,

This is my very first post. What a great resource this forum is! I have a question concerning whether Saylor Academy CS courses (proctored exam results) could beneficially be used in a TESU PLA.

I'm interested in the BA in Computer Science from TESU. I'm trying to determine whether I can complete this degree using primarily testing and PLA. I'm currently employed as a software developer (I have 20 years of experience), I do not have a degree (which hasn't really been a problem for me), I have always wanted to complete a degree but I have no desire to pay thousands of dollars for courses, on-line or otherwise, to obtain one.

I'm convinced that I might actually be able to bang out most of the general education requirements through some combination of CLEPS, DSSTS, TECEPS, etc. That leaves me with just the area of study to figure out for a BA in CS. I have the following credits from my local state university that I could potentially transfer:
  • Pre-calculus (circa 1998) - 3 ch
  • Java Programming (c. 1998) - 3 ch
  • Calculus I (c. 1998) - 4 ch
  • Calculus II (c. 1999) - 4 ch
  • Discrete Mathematics (2000) - 3 ch

I think the above could satisfy most of the required courses (part 'A') in section II (area of study) for TESU's BA in Computer Science. (With the exception of a Data Structures course.)

So here's where things get interesting and relate to my question:

Some time ago I discovered Saylor Academy. Presently, a good number of their courses yield either ACE or NCCRS credit. Unfortunately, only one of their twenty CS courses (CS101: Introduction to Computer Science I) yields NCCRS credit. Interestingly though, Brandman University will grant credit for some of these courses: