Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
University of Phoenix or Excelsior?
I am currently enrolled in my seventh week at the University of Phoenix. At the time, I had never heard of Excelsior. I heard about CLEP, got on here and now I have so many new questions! Firstly, I am studying for my Bachelor's Degree in Elementary Education. But, it was hard to choose between that major and Information Technology. Excelsior does not offer courses for Elementary Education. If I changed my major to Information Technology and enrolled at Excelsior, between CLEP and ECE exams I think I may be able to receive a Bachelor's Degree much sooner than staying enrolled at UoP and trying to CLEP out - they only allow 30 CLEP credits. My questions are:
1)Could I enroll at Excelsior after I finish my first block of classes at UoP and then transfer my 6 measley credits?
2)If I get my Bachelor's from EC and go back to UoP for my Master's in Elementary Education will they accept my transfer credits if they are comprised of mostly ECE exams?
3)Will EC let me hold off on taking some classes after I enroll in order to study for some ECE exams?
4)Does any of this sound like a good idea?

Thanks so much! This place is wonderful!

Oh yes, one last question. I am scheduled to take the Freshman College Composition with Essay in 6 days. If I take this CLEP, pass it and receive credit for it at UoP, will EC accept this credit? I have read they do not accept the CLEP test for the Fresh. Comp. But, will they accept it is a transfer credit?
1) Yes, you can finish up the courses you are taking with UoP and then enroll at Excelsior to earn those credits.
2) When I enrolled in grad school, I was pretty much told that it didn't matter how I earned the credits only that I earned the degree. Each grad school is different, but I don't imagine it would be much of an issue. Always ask though.