Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Warning: MUST Have STEM or Business Degree
(02-24-2018, 02:44 PM)burbuja0512 Wrote: Background:   Since I got my degree at COSC (and even a little before) I have been working in international business.   My last job was as Head of Global Sales at a prominent medical organization and they had me traveling around 250k miles per year.   Well, as much as that sounds like a dream job, it was literally going to kill me.  Not to mention that I have a family and I do enjoy seeing them as much as possible.

So, I took a small break and have been doing consulting.    BUT, the consulting is not really for me and I have started to casually look for another international sales job... hopefully one with less travel.

Here's the problem:  All of the jobs I am looking for have the following requirement, "Bachelor's Degree in engineering, science, or business required; MBA preferred."     There are several variations on this theme.  Some will specify life sciences or business (pharma companies) and others are less precise and say "technical or business degree required."    THEY ALL SAY MBA preferred.

Ok, so I am looking at senior-level positions, so I don't care that they want an MBA.  I have an MBA because I wanted to climb the corporate ladder a little.   What worries me is that all of the jobs I'm seeing USED to only say bachelor's degree required, and then be fairly relaxed about the field of study.    Now, they suddenly care about technical knowledge.. or at least it seems.  Everyone wants the STEM undergrad or business.    (And who the heck would equate business with an engineering degree??  Can someone explain that because I have a biz degree and it sure isn't engineering!)