Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
AF AU-ABC Program worth it?
I'm wondering if any Air Force Members are participating in the AU-ABC program. I was thinking of doing this with Excelsior towards the Bachelor of Science in Liberal Arts. I have a decent amount of credits and mostly just have upper level to go along with orientation and information literacy.

I was talking with my education counselor trying to figure out how the system worked as far as transferring my CCAF degree. I noticed they used 1 of my 6 credits from Freshman College Comp CLEP towards an elective. I was asking to have it changed before my degree is awarded, to pull the credit from what excelsior considers applied professional. This way I could use the leftover 3 Freshman College Comp credits towards arts and sciences in the BSLA. She told me it didn’t matter where CCAF put the credits and that it wasn’t written in stone, Excelsior could just move them around when it came time to completing the bachelor. Anyone know if that’s correct?

I was only confused because normally Excelsior only takes the credits towards English if it’s the CLEP w/Essay, like English Comp w/essay or Freshman Comp w/essay. The CCAF already accepts these tests without the essay portion.

If they don’t care what the CCAF did with the credits, what are the benefits of the AU-ABC program? It seems like I could just throw all my transcripts at Excelsior now without waiting for them to award my 2 CCAF degrees. I cross trained and have filled all the requirements of my two AAS degrees just waiting for the transcripts to arrive and all that. I’ll have Aviation Maintenance Technology, and Health Services Management.
Sorry for the super long post, pretty good for my first one... I've been watching the forums for a while and really learning a good bit from just browsing/searching. I appreciate all the info and experience that is give on
these forums.

Thanks for any input or advice!

-Phil
Done: