Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
"Big 3" degree value?
I hear a lot of people talking about getting degrees from the "Big 3" especially by testing out of a lot of the credits.

Excelsior, Thomas Edison State College and Charter Oak...

How are these degrees regarded by employers when compared to a "regular" 4 year degree?

I know a lot of people on here go for these "big 3" online schools so you will probably be biased, but I was just wondering and I can't really find any reliable information online.

So if I got a degree from a traditional public college, like Virginia State University for example, in accounting, how would this compare to an accounting degree from one of the "big 3?"

Thanks

MA2/USN
I can't speak for all employers obviously, but when I review candidates, as long as the school is accredited by the DoE, it's valid. After that, it's down to real world experience and the ability to mesh well with the team.

From the four or five unsolicited job offers I get every month with my Excelsior education listed on my resume, other employers feel the same.

Edit: Two glasses of Bordeaux = messed up posts. The DoE doesn't accredit, but they recognize the accrediting agencies. You guys know what I meant! Wink
[SIZE="2"]
-Justin
PMP, CISSP, A+, Sec+, MCDST, ITIL
Total Credits Earned: 162

www.Free-Clep-Prep.com - (with Forum Admin's permission)

[/SIZE]
If you do a search, you'll see a ton of posts about this same question. I think Shotojuku has the best reply with a rating system for colleges... hopefully he'll pop up here.

IMHO, getting a good job depends on a number of factors. What I've seen in my career is that experience is more important than the degree, but a degree is necessary to get past the recruiter. Many HR people simply won't pass your resume on to the hiring manager if you don't meet the requirements. If a degree is listed as a requirement, you don't get an interview. Period.