Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Brand New - Want to finish my degree- not sure how this works- Looking for answers...
Thanks Mrs.b...If I could waive a magic wand and wake up tomorrow doing something it be another volunteer experience. I worked as a CNA/HHA , social services, and then went into suicide crisis and rape crisis counselor line. A lot of stress. I wound up getting a volunteer opportunity and then volunteered around, lived on an Organic farm, even living in a Buddhist community for 9 months helping them with fundraising (I am catholic but they didn't care and neither did I LOL) That gave me such a travel and volunteer bug. Seriously, I love working with people. Even the job I have now, technical support, I get teased that I work for the customer like it's life and death Maybe that is left over from before. Anyway, that is the main reason why I want to get this degree. I can volunteer for the Peace Corps with a degree. The recruiter said it doesn't even matter what it is in but I HAVE to have at least a bachelors degree Sad
As for work, i am keeping track of the times we are down and not getting paid. I have been for about 2 months now. What will be, will be but it now has become a means to an end now that I see an end in sight. Thanks
I did work at a non-profit before and loved it. Several times.
Setting the Big3 aside for now (they may be your best bet for the money and time, but not always)...

Have you thought about Anthropology? There is an option for a lot of travel if you go the researcher route. Here's a link of other career options an anthropology degree may open: What You Can Do With a Degree in Anthropology

What about Psychology? There can be good money in that, and by default, you'll be working with and helping people because that's what it is about...and it's incredibly versatile, branching into a ton of different fields.