Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
College Composition Essay HELP
I agree with rrr (I'm an English tutor). There is a basic 5 paragraph persuasive essay structure you should follow. However I would say your thesis should be clear, and have the 3 reasons that support it and it's the last sentence of your introduction. Then those 3 things become your body paragraphs. The conclusion wraps it all up but doesn't offer new information. It's generally a good idea to have an amplification in the end as to why this matters to ultimately.

If you want to ask rhetorical questions, keep it to only one or two in the whole paper. Use one of them as your exordium or hook to open the essay and get the reader into it.

I have found with these kinds of timed essays they are not looking for profound new research or thoughts on the subject. They are more interested in: Do you know basic essay format? Can you write a clear thesis statement? Do you have proofs that you can develop into the body paragraphs? Do you use transitions well to help the reader follow your train of thought? Do you have a conclusion that wraps everything up? If so, you are golden.

BTW, the above is what IEW teaches in all levels of writing. I have taught their materials for years. His more recent updates to High School Essay Intensive teaches very clearly a more classical rhetoric approach to persuasive writing which is to have your thesis stated clearly, with three proofs. A refutation is appropriate only when you have proven your three proofs first.
Amy
Goal: BA in English at TESU
Completed: 78 B&M credits plus:
Institutes: Ethics
Study.com: Personal Finance, History of the Vietnam War, English Comp I, Intro World Religions, Public Speaking, Intro to Humanities
Shmoop: Bible as Literature, Shakespeare's Plays, Women's Lit, Modernist Lit, Holocaust Lit
TECEP: Technical Writing
[-] The following 1 user Likes originalamyj's post:
  • a2jc4life